Homepage ~ Syllabus ~ Course Resources
GLS 177: A JOURNEY THROUGH THE HISTORY OF FRANCE [2 credits
November 27 – December 12, 2006
Dates Destination - Activity - Historical Focus
27-Nov: Mon
Day 1
Flight from Chicago O’Hare to Avignon, France, via Paris.
28-Nov: Tues
Day 2
Arrive AVIGNON
Transfer to Hotel. [4 nights]
29-Nov: Wed-
1-Dec: Fri
Day 3-6
During our stay in Avignon we will visit sites in Avignon, Nimes, Arles & as well as Pont du Gard. There will be time set aside for student exploration of related sites
Gallo-Roman & Medieval  Periods
2-Dec: Sat
Day 7
Transfer to TOURS by train 
Transfer to Hotel  [4 nights
3-Dec: Sun- 5-Dec: Tue
Day 8-10
During our stay in Tours we will visit Tours, Angers, Blois  &  Chenonceau. There will be time set aside for student exploration of related sites.
Renaissance & Pre-historic periods
6-Dec: Wed
Day 11
Transfer to PARIS by train
Transfer to Hotel [6 nights]
7-Dec: Thu
Day 12
A Day at Versailles: We will visit the chateau and the gardens.
17th century
8-Dec: Fri
11-Dec: Mon
Day 13-16
There will be walking tours  for Medieval Paris, Revolutionary Paris, and the Paris of Francois Mitterrand., in addition to selected museum visits.
Optional trips will be arranged according to interests.
Roman through 20th century
12-Dec: Tue
Day 17
Return to Chicago from Paris
 
Homepage ~ Syllabus ~ Course Resources